Adobe Premier Pro vs Final Cut Pro

There has always been the dilemma of which editing software to use. I have flip flopped throughout my career between Adobe Premier and Apples Final Cut Pro. I started with premier then went to college and started using Final Cut and now my school has just installed Premier onto to computers in our editing suite. So now I am back on that Premier train. I’ve always like it a lot better but I definitely had to re-familiarize myself with the program. This is also a problem for other making the transition.

One main concern is getting accustomed to the layout. The default Premier layout is pretty different compared to Final Cut, especially if you are using the newest CS6. But this can be easily tweaked by changing around some of the windows. Or what I found to be really helpful was changing the entire workstation layout to the CS5 setting. This gives you much more of a Final Cut type workstation and I believe it is much easier to get organized using this setting.

Efficiency is also always a concern. In my opinion Premier offers a lot more power and versatility when it comes to editing videos. There are a lot more effects in Premier to be utilized but you really need to learn what each one does so that it can be used to its maximum potential. And every video requires different effects and each effect might need to be tweaked in different ways to really get the look and feel you are trying to get.

I never find exporting to be too much of a hassle but for some it might be. If you are so used to exporting from Final Cut then moving to Premier might be a little painstaking. You really just need to go through all of Premiers export setting and explore until you figure out the export settings just like you probably did when you started using Final Cut.

Posted on October 26, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome post man! Thanks for the help of transitioning into Premiere. Also, huge thanks for linking to my blog, I really appreciate it. Hope you have a good weekend!

What do you think?

Chasing Ventures

Venturing Outside the Norm.

Tassem

This is where I have to write something creative to capture your imagination. And I will. One day.

Taylor Marie Esler

A journalist blogging her way to a degree

THE HEAVY PRESS

covering the weight nobody else can handle

Zac Bowen Media

A fine WordPress.com site

Advenperture

Creating & capturing the art of living life

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Galen Leeds Photography

Tips for photography (and kayaks) ©Galen Leeds Photography

Dearest Byron,

if you could listen, I know you would

