The Talent Dilemma

It’s hard to film a story without any actors. They make the piece and put emotion into the film. But finding the right people for the part can be quite the process. For myself being  college student and all, I will pretty much ask any of my friends to be in a video. Granted most of them have little acting experience, but this could be their chance to make it big (not really). The thing that is the most challenging part when it comes to talent it coordinating schedules. 

There was a time when I had talked to a bunch of my friends to be involved in a video I was making for class. We had agreed upon a time and place of where the shoot would be taking place. I believe it was on a Saturday. So the day comes and I have all my equipment and ready to shoot when my phone starts blowing up. I begin to receive messages saying “hey i can’t make it today,” “I have to help my parents with something,” “I’m not really feeling up to it.” Seriously? C’mon people we had this planned for about a week now! I was pretty upset because the project was due the following Monday. So therefore I had to improvise with the talent i had left that was helping me. I got the project done but it wasn’t anywhere near what it could have been.

So I suppose what I’m trying to say is that when trying to find talent to make sure they are reliable. Make sure schedules are coordinated well in advance and continuously send out reminders to make sure if someone can no longer participate then you can find a replacement. It can be one of the easiest things to deal with or it can be one of the hardest things. It really depends on how many people are needed for the video.

Posted on October 29, 2013, in Productions and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

Chasing Ventures

Venturing Outside the Norm.

Tassem

This is where I have to write something creative to capture your imagination. And I will. One day.

Taylor Marie Esler

A journalist blogging her way to a degree

THE HEAVY PRESS

covering the weight nobody else can handle

Zac Bowen Media

A fine WordPress.com site

Advenperture

Creating & capturing the art of living life

Photofocus

education and inspiration for visual storytellers

Galen Leeds Photography

Tips for photography (and kayaks) ©Galen Leeds Photography

Dearest Byron,

if you could listen, I know you would

